News and Announcements

Townsend named to Minneapolis Fed's 2021-22 class of Visiting Scholars
April 29, 2021

The Minneapolis Fed announced a new cohort of 21 visiting scholars selected to conduct research while in residence at the Opportunity & Inclusive Growth Institute.

“The Visiting Scholar Program is a vital channel for bringing new ideas and insights into the Institute’s work and, by extension, the Fed System,” said Institute Director Abigail Wozniak. “Given the ongoing pandemic and related economic uncertainty, it is critical that we continue our work to understand how to enhance economic opportunity and well-being for all. Institute scholars play a key role in that effort.”

This class of academics was selected because their research contributes to understanding how to increase economic opportunity for all Americans. Collectively, the scholars use a variety of empirical methods and theoretical perspectives to answer research questions.

"We are excited about this new cohort,” said Assistant Director of Inequality Research Alessandra Fogli. “Each scholar is a leader in their field, and their broad interests bring diversity to our research agenda.”

(Read more.)

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2021, Townsend Named Distinguished Fellow
April 20, 2021

NASHVILLE, TN (April 20, 2021) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the Best Paper Awards of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting in January 2022.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at

Distinguished Fellows

Alan Auerbach, University of California, Berkeley
Rebecca Blank, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Anne Case, Princeton University
Robert Townsend, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Read more at the American Economic Association